24/7 Services

365 Days a Yearr

UK Nationwide

Offices Throughout the UK

Residential Children’s Homes

Ofsted Logo

Ofsted 9 Care Quality Standards: Enhancing Residential Children's Homes Quality


Ensuring the well-being and positive development of children in residential care is of paramount importance. In 2015, Ofsted introduced the 9 Care Standards to provide a comprehensive framework for evaluating and improving the quality of care in children’s homes.

These standards serve as a guideline for creating a nurturing environment that supports children’s emotional, physical, and social needs. In this blog post, we will delve into each of the 9 Care Standards and explore their significance in promoting the welfare of children in residential care settings.

1. Child's Views, Wishes, and Feelings

The first standard emphasizes the importance of involving children in decisions that affect their lives. Encouraging active participation empowers children, fosters a sense of belonging, and helps staff tailor their care to individual needs.

2. Care & Support

This standard underscores the need to provide personalized care and support that caters to each child’s unique requirements. By focusing on their physical, emotional, and mental well-being, children can thrive in a nurturing environment.

3. Environment

Creating a safe, welcoming, and home-like environment is crucial for children’s homes. A well-designed physical space can contribute to a sense of security and comfort, aiding children in their personal growth and development.

4. Health and Well-being

Children’s health and well-being should be a priority. Ensuring access to quality healthcare, proper nutrition, and opportunities for physical activity enables children to maintain good health and build healthy habits.

5. Positive Relationships

Strong and positive relationships with caregivers and peers play a pivotal role in a child’s emotional development. Encouraging open communication and offering emotional support help children form healthy connections.

6. Education

Promoting education and personal development equips children with skills that will serve them throughout their lives. Children’s homes should provide educational support that caters to individual needs and aspirations.

7. The quality and purpose of care standard

The provision of personalised, well-intentioned care, focusing on respect and accessibility (within the home and community).

8. Enjoy and Achieve

This standard emphasizes creating an environment where children can explore their interests, hobbies, and talents. Engaging in enjoyable activities boosts self-esteem and fosters a sense of achievement.

9. Making a Positive Contribution

Children should have opportunities to contribute to their communities and develop a sense of responsibility. Encouraging involvement in community activities and promoting positive behaviours helps them become responsible citizens.


The 9 Care Standards of 2015 introduced by Ofsted provide a comprehensive framework for enhancing the quality of care in children’s homes. By prioritizing children’s well-being, individual needs, and holistic development, these standards guide caregivers in creating a nurturing environment where children can thrive. Through active participation, positive relationships, education, and a focus on overall well-being, children’s homes can truly make a positive impact on the lives of the children they serve.

UK Care Logo